Reviewed by the CoveragePrep editorial team · Sources: state insurance departments, statutes, exam candidate handbooks · How we research

Licensing guide · TN

Tennessee insurance adjuster license

Tennessee does not license property/casualty independent or company adjusters. It does license two adjuster types: public adjusters (required since July 1, 2007) and crop insurance adjusters (required since January 1, 2010; insurers selling crop insurance may only use licensed crop adjusters).

Some details on this page could not be confirmed on the regulator's own website. Check with the Tennessee Department of Commerce & Insurance (TDCI), Insurance Division - Agent Licensing before you apply, and tell us if anything has changed.

License required
Limited licensing
Resident license fee
$100
Continuing education
24 hours / 2 years
Offers a DHS license
No

How to get licensed in Tennessee, step by step

  1. Confirm the license type. Tennessee issues the Crop Insurance Adjuster (multi-peril crop adjuster) license (Crop insurance claims).
  2. Apply for the license with the Tennessee Department of Commerce & Insurance (TDCI), Insurance Division - Agent Licensing and pay the $100 license fee.
  3. Keep it active. Complete 24 hours of continuing education every 2 years and renew on time (license term: Crop adjuster licenses renew every other year before the end of the licensee's birth month).

Tennessee adjuster license types

LicenseCoversExamPrelicensing
Crop Insurance Adjuster (multi-peril crop adjuster)Crop insurance claimsNot required
No state exam. Applicants must pass the USDA Risk Management Agency-approved proficiency test for multi-peril crop adjusters and submit their CAPP card.
Not required

License fees

  • Resident license: $100

Crop insurance adjuster: $100 non-refundable application fee and $100 renewal fee, filed on paper with TDCI Agent Licensing (NAIC uniform application, Crop Adjuster Biographical Affidavit, CAPP card). Public adjuster fees are in the publicAdjuster field.

License term: Crop adjuster licenses renew every other year before the end of the licensee's birth month.

Continuing education

Tennessee adjusters need 24 hours of continuing education every 2 years (with license renewal).

Multi-peril crop adjusters must complete at least 24 hours of approved CE, including ethics, each biennial renewal cycle, in addition to CE for any other licenses held. The number of ethics hours is not specified on the TDCI page.

Nonresident adjusters, reciprocity and DHS

Property/casualty adjusters (independent or staff) need no Tennessee license, so no nonresident license is needed for P&C claims. NIPR offers Tennessee nonresident licensing only for public adjusters, and Tennessee public adjusters cannot submit an ADHS electronically. How nonresident crop adjusters are licensed was not verified.

Designated home state license: Tennessee does not issue a designated home state adjuster license.

See every state's rules side by side on the adjuster license reciprocity map.

Public adjusters in Tennessee

Licensed since July 1, 2007 (Tenn. Code 56-6-901 et seq.). Residents must pass the Pearson VUE Tennessee Public Adjuster exam (1 hour, 50 scoreable questions, $50 test-center fee); nonresident exam status is verified through the National Producer Database. Requires a $50,000 surety bond and $500,000 errors and omissions coverage. Fee $100, 2-year term, renewal $100. CE: 24 hours each biennium including ethics; nonresidents meeting home-state CE may be exempt. Applicants who fail 3 times must wait 1 year.

Insurance adjuster salary in Tennessee

Claims adjusters, examiners and investigatorsTennesseeUnited States
Mean annual wage$78,840$80,470
Median annual wage$78,010$78,000
10th to 90th percentile$47,310 to $108,890$48,850 to $117,040
Employment6,390324,230
Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics, May 2025, SOC 13-1031. Compare all states.

Frequently asked questions

Do you need a license to be an insurance adjuster in Tennessee?

Tennessee does not license property/casualty independent or company adjusters. It does license two adjuster types: public adjusters (required since July 1, 2007) and crop insurance adjusters (required since January 1, 2010; insurers selling crop insurance may only use licensed crop adjusters).

How much does an adjuster license cost in Tennessee?

In Tennessee, the resident license fee is $100. Fees change, so confirm current amounts with the Tennessee Department of Commerce & Insurance (TDCI), Insurance Division - Agent Licensing.

Can a nonresident get an adjuster license in Tennessee?

Property/casualty adjusters (independent or staff) need no Tennessee license, so no nonresident license is needed for P&C claims. NIPR offers Tennessee nonresident licensing only for public adjusters, and Tennessee public adjusters cannot submit an ADHS electronically. How nonresident crop adjusters are licensed was not verified.

How many continuing education hours do Tennessee adjusters need?

24 hours, every 2 years (with license renewal). Multi-peril crop adjusters must complete at least 24 hours of approved CE, including ethics, each biennial renewal cycle, in addition to CE for any other licenses held. The number of ethics hours is not specified on the TDCI page.

How much do insurance adjusters make in Tennessee?

According to the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, claims adjusters, examiners and investigators in Tennessee earned a mean of $78,840 a year in May 2025, with a median of $78,010. The national mean was $80,470. Independent catastrophe adjusters are paid by fee schedule and can earn more or less than this.

Official Tennessee resources

Regulator: Tennessee Department of Commerce & Insurance (TDCI), Insurance Division - Agent Licensing

Sources

  1. tn.gov/commerce/insurance/agent-producer-resources/licensing-packets-instructions-forms/pu
  2. tn.gov/commerce/insurance/agent-producer-resources/licensing-packets-instructions-forms/cr
  3. codes.findlaw.com/tn/title-56-insurance/tn-code-sect-56-6-1002/
  4. codes.findlaw.com/tn/title-56-insurance/tn-code-sect-56-6-1003.html
  5. pearsonvue.com/content/dam/VUE/vue/en/documents/publications/124300.pdf
  6. nipr.com/licensing-center/state-requirements/tennessee-resident-licensing-individual
  7. nipr.com/licensing-center/state-requirements/tennessee-non-resident-adjuster-licensing-ind
  8. nipr.com/licensing-center/state-information/tennessee

Adjuster license requirements in other states

Alabama · Alaska · Arizona · Arkansas · California · Colorado · Connecticut · Delaware · District of Columbia · Florida · Georgia · Hawaii · Idaho · Illinois · Indiana · Iowa · Kansas · Kentucky · Louisiana · Maine · Maryland · Massachusetts · Michigan · Minnesota · Mississippi · Missouri · Montana · Nebraska · Nevada · New Hampshire · New Jersey · New Mexico · New York · North Carolina · North Dakota · Ohio · Oklahoma · Oregon · Pennsylvania · Rhode Island · South Carolina · South Dakota · Texas · Utah · Vermont · Virginia · Washington · West Virginia · Wisconsin · Wyoming