Adjuster continuing education requirements by state
Most states that license adjusters require continuing education (CE) to renew, typically 24 hours every two years with a few hours of ethics. Here is the requirement in every state that licenses adjusters, with notes on exemptions and nonresidents.
| State | CE hours | Ethics hours | Period | Nonresidents exempt | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Alabama | 24 | 3 | 2 years (each biennial renewal) | Yes | DetailsRequired for resident independent adjusters and Alabama DHS licensees; renewal is rejected if no CE is on the transcript. Excess hours do not carry over. Nonresidents who meet CE in their resident or designated home state are exempt. |
| Alaska | 24 | 3 | 2 years (each renewal) | Yes | DetailsApplies to resident licensees who have held a license for a full two-year period. No more than 8 hours in management, marketing, sales and training; up to 8 excess hours may carry over. Nonresidents who meet CE in their home state are exempt, except holders who designated Alaska as their home state, who must complete Alaska CE (AS 21.27.020(f)(5), effective January 1, 2026). |
| Arizona | 0 | 0 | DetailsDIFI: Arizona law does not require adjusters to complete continuing education. | ||
| Arkansas | 24 | 3 | 2 years (due on or before the birthday) | Yes | DetailsAID Rule 50: resident adjusters, and nonresidents who qualified by taking the Arkansas exam, need 24 hours including 3 ethics every two years. Exempt: company-employed adjusters, limited adjusters (Rule 68), and nonresidents licensed in a home or designated home state with comparable CE. Courses cannot be repeated within 2 years. |
| California | 24 | 3 | 2 years (each license term) | Yes | DetailsIns. Code 14090.1 applies to California resident independent adjusters. Separately, all claims adjusters must complete Fair Claims Settlement Practices Regulations training and certification by September 1 each year (10 CCR 2695.6). |
| Connecticut | 0 | 0 | DetailsConnecticut has no CE requirement for P&C claim adjusters, MVPD appraisers or public adjusters. | ||
| Delaware | 12 | 3 | 2 years (biennium) | No | DetailsReg. 504 sec. 8.2.2 sets 12 hours (3 ethics) per biennium for resident adjusters and public adjusters. Adjusters licensed only for Fidelity & Surety and/or Marine & Transportation are exempt. Nonresident adjusters and PAs licensed before 03/01/2021 must also meet 12 hours (9 general + 3 ethics); Delaware accepts credits from the resident or designated home state, and from another state's approved courses if the home state has no CE. Licensees with 25+ years of licensure or a listed designation get 6 automatic credits. |
| Florida | 24 | 4 | 2 years (due by end of birth month) | Yes | Details6-20, 5-20 and 70-20 adjusters need the 4-hour Law & Ethics Update for adjusters (course authority 5-620) plus 20 elective hours (F.S. 626.2815). Nonresident 7-20 adjusters are exempt if they complete CE in a state marked as CE-reciprocal on DFS's list. 70-20 DHS holders must always complete Florida CE. |
| Georgia | 24 | 3 | 2 years (biennial license period) | Yes | DetailsLicensees continuously licensed for 20 or more years need 20 hours (3 ethics). Holders of certain designations (CPCU, AAI, CIC, etc.) need 12 hours. Adjusters holding the UCC designation are exempt from adjuster CE. Workers' comp adjusters may instead take 20 hours through State Workers' Compensation Board providers, and WC-only licensees have no ethics requirement. Nonresidents who meet CE in their resident or Designated Home State are deemed compliant. Holders of a Georgia DHS (designated home state) adjuster license are listed as CE-exempt. Up to 50% of the biennial requirement may be carried over. |
| Hawaii | 0 | DetailsHawaii has no continuing education requirement for adjusters: the adjuster CE sections (HRS 431:9-301 to 305) were repealed in 2002 (L 2002, c 155, s 108). The 24-hour CE rule in HRS 431:9A-124 applies only to producers. Workers' compensation adjusters instead pass the WC adjuster exam again at each renewal. | |||
| Idaho | 24 | 3 | 2 years | DetailsIDAPA 18.06.04 applies to producers, adjusters and public adjusters: 24 credits including at least 3 ethics, every two years. No more than 4 hours of adjuster/PA-approved CE can count toward a producer license. | |
| Indiana | 24 | 2 years | Yes | DetailsIC 27-1-28-19 requires 24 hours every two years. It does not apply to licensees licensed less than 12 months before the end of the biennium, nonresidents who met their designated home state's CE, or holders of an approved claims certification. The statute specifies no separate ethics hours; secondary sources sometimes cite 3 ethics hours, which was not verified. | |
| Iowa | 24 | 2 | 2 years (each license term) | DetailsThe Iowa Insurance Division says 'Adjusters are required to complete a minimum of 24 credits of continued education, including two hours of ethics, during each two-year license term,' and that resident and nonresident adjusters must be CE-compliant before renewing. Rule 191-55.11(2) exempts nonresident public adjusters who met home-state CE; whether this extends to independent adjusters was not verified. | |
| Kentucky | 24 | 3 | 2 years (biennium) | Yes | DetailsKRS 304.9-295(5): independent and public adjusters must complete 24 hours, including 3 ethics, each biennium. The statute does not list staff adjusters. Licensees not licensed one full year before the end of the biennium are exempt, as are nonresidents who met home-state CE where the home state reciprocates. |
| Louisiana | 24 | 2 years (biennial renewal cycle) | Yes | DetailsLa. R.S. 22:1673 requires 24 hours 'including ethics, with at least two hours dedicated to the subject of legislative updates in insurance law', reported biennially with renewal. The first renewal after initial issuance is exempt, as are nonresidents who met home-state CE where the home state reciprocates. The exact ethics hour minimum was not stated in the statute text reviewed. | |
| Maine | 0 | 0 | DetailsThere is no CE requirement. Bureau FAQ: 'adjusters, both resident and nonresident, are not currently required to complete continuing education credits.' The CE subchapter applies only to producers and consultants (24-A §1481-A). | ||
| Massachusetts Limited licensing | n/a | ||||
| Michigan | 0 | 0 | annual renewal | DetailsThe DIFS adjuster renewal page requires only the $5 annual renewal fee. No CE requirement for adjusters was found on DIFS pages, and secondary sources agree. | |
| Minnesota | 24 | 3 | 2 years (reported with the biennial renewal) | Yes | DetailsMinn. Stat. 72B.045 applies to independent and public adjusters. Exempt: licensees not licensed for a full year before the end of the biennium, and nonresidents who met the CE requirements of their designated home state. |
| Mississippi | 24 | 3 | 2 years (license periods of 19-24 months; 12 hours if the license period is 18 months or less) | Details24 total hours including 3 ethics regardless of how many adjuster licenses or lines are held. Nonresidents who designated Mississippi as home state must complete Mississippi CE. | |
| Montana | 24 | 3 | 2 years | DetailsAdjusters need 24 approved hours per biennium, including at least 3 hours of ethics and 1 hour of Montana legislative changes. Nonresident adjusters living in a state with no CE requirement must complete 24 hours, either Montana CE or through a designated CE completion state. | |
| Nevada | 24 | 3 | each 3-year license term | Yes | DetailsResidents need 24 hours, including 3 ethics, during each license term. Nonresidents complete and report CE in their home state. There is no grace period: the license expires at month-end, and reinstatement is possible up to 30 days late with a penalty. |
| New Hampshire | 24 | 3 | 2 years (complete at least 60 days before renewal) | Yes | DetailsEthics must be 3 to 10 hours. Licensees with workers' comp authority need 10 hours of workers' comp credits and 10 multi-line credits. Nonresidents are exempt unless New Hampshire is their designated home state (RSA 402-B:5-a). |
| New Mexico | 24 | 3 | 2 years (24 months before renewal) | Yes | Details13.4.7 NMAC applies to public, staff and independent adjusters. At least 3 hours per period must be in a classroom or live-instructor format. Nonresidents may renew on home-state CE if substantially equivalent; per Bulletin 2024-019, nonresidents whose home state has no adjuster CE must complete NM-approved CE (enforced on renewals expiring April 2026 onward). |
| New York | 0 | 0 | DetailsNo CE requirement for independent adjusters. The PSI/DFS bulletin applies CE (15 credits per biennium) only to agents, brokers, consultants and public adjusters, and Insurance Law §2108(r) applies CE to public adjusters. | ||
| North Carolina | 24 | 3 | 2 years (biennial compliance period based on birth month/year) | Yes | Details3 hours of flood CE in the first compliance period and every other period after (every 4 years). Applies to company, independent, public and self-employed adjusters. Nonresidents licensed through their resident state or another DHS only need good standing there; nonresidents who use NC as DHS must meet NC CE. |
| Oklahoma | 24 | 3 | 2 years, completed before renewal | Yes | DetailsResidents and Oklahoma-DHS adjusters need 3 hours ethics, 2 hours legislative update and 19 hours adjuster general. Nonresidents must complete CE in at least one state where they hold an adjuster license: their resident state if it requires CE, otherwise a 24-hour state of their choice. Up to 6 excess hours carry forward. |
| Oregon | 24 | 3 | 2 years (each renewal cycle) | No | DetailsSince Jan 1, 2020 (ORS 744.521) resident and nonresident individual adjusters must complete 24 hours, including 3 ethics. Residents also need 3 hours of Oregon law; nonresidents may substitute 3 hours of their home state's law. Producer CE counts. Nonresidents whose home state requires fewer hours must make up the difference to 24. |
| Rhode Island | 24 | 3 | 2 years (reported with the biennial renewal) | Yes | DetailsAdded by the regulation amendment effective 05/28/2024. Applies to company/independent and public adjusters, but not to those licensed less than one full year before the end of the biennium. Nonresidents who meet home-state CE are exempt if the home state gives RI residents the same credit. |
| South Carolina | 0 | 0 | DetailsSCDOI states that South Carolina requires resident adjusters to pass the state exam but does not require fingerprints or continuing education. The 24-hour CE rule on the SCDOI site applies to producers, not adjusters. | ||
| Tennessee Limited licensing | 24 | 2 years (with license renewal) | DetailsMulti-peril crop adjusters must complete at least 24 hours of approved CE, including ethics, each biennial renewal cycle, in addition to CE for any other licenses held. The number of ethics hours is not specified on the TDCI page. | ||
| Texas | 24 | 3 | 2 years (each license period) | Yes | DetailsAt least 12 of the 24 hours must be classroom or classroom-equivalent. Licenses that expired on or before August 31, 2022 needed only 2 ethics hours. Missing hours draw a $50 per hour fine (up to $500) within a 90-day cure period. Nonresidents follow their home state's CE rules, but if the home state requires no CE the adjuster must follow Texas rules, and Texas DHS licensees must complete Texas CE. Adjusters continuously licensed for 20 years may request an exemption. |
| Utah | 24 | 3 | 2 years | Yes | DetailsAt least half of the 24 hours must be classroom or classroom-equivalent, no more than 12 hours may come from insurer-provided courses, and all hours must be Department-approved (Utah Code 31A-26-206; Utah Insurance Department CE page). Nonresidents who meet their home state's CE need no Utah CE. |
| Vermont | n/a | DetailsNIPR's Vermont renewal rules list CE as not required for Adjuster-Property and Casualty, Crop Adjuster and Public Adjuster licenses, but required for Workers' Compensation Adjusters (8 V.S.A. 4803(e) directs the Commissioner to require education or training for WC adjusters). The number of WC adjuster CE hours was not verified. | |||
| Washington | 24 | 3 | 2 years (each license renewal period) | Yes | DetailsRequired since July 1, 2022 (SHB 1037) for resident independent, public and crop adjusters and for nonresidents who designate Washington as their home state. OIC says Washington does not require nonresident adjusters to complete its CE even if their home state requires none. Excess credits do not carry over. |
| West Virginia | 24 | 3 | 2 years (biennium based on birth month) | Yes | DetailsRequired since July 1, 2021 for West Virginia resident adjusters and nonresidents who designate West Virginia as home state (W. Va. Code 33-12B-13; OIC Adjuster FAQs). Workers' compensation adjusters are encouraged to take at least 3 hours on WC claims. Nonresidents who meet their home state's CE are not subject to WV CE. |
| Wyoming | 24 | 3 | 2 years (each licensing period) | Yes | DetailsRequired of Wyoming residents and adjusters with Wyoming as their DHS. Nonresidents follow their home state's CE with no extra Wyoming requirement. Up to 12 excess general credits completed within 120 days before expiration may carry forward. No CE extensions are granted, and a course cannot be repeated for credit within 48 months. |
States in this table with no adjuster CE requirement: Arizona, Connecticut, Hawaii, Maine, Michigan, New York, South Carolina.
How adjuster CE usually works
- Deadline: CE is typically due by the license expiration or birth-month renewal date, and providers need time to report your credits, so finish early.
- Ethics: most states require part of the hours in ethics; Florida requires a specific 4-hour law and ethics update course for all-lines adjusters.
- Classroom hours: some states, such as Texas, require part of the CE in a classroom or classroom-equivalent format.
- Carry-over: a few states let extra hours count toward the next period; others, such as Texas, do not.
- Nonresidents: usually satisfied by meeting your home or designated home state's requirement.
Frequently asked questions
How many CE hours do insurance adjusters need?
24 hours per renewal period is the most common requirement among the states we track (27 states), usually every two years and usually including a few hours of ethics. Some states require less, and a few require none for adjusters.
Do nonresident adjusters have to take continuing education in every state?
Usually not. Most states consider a nonresident compliant if they meet the CE requirement of their home state or designated home state. Designated home state licensees generally complete CE as if they were residents of that state.
What happens if I miss my CE deadline?
Rules differ, but common consequences are late fees or fines, a license that cannot be renewed until CE is complete, or an expired license that must be reinstated. Texas, for example, fines $50 per deficient hour up to $500 per license period, and Florida charges a $250 fine for CE noncompliance.